The New New Museum

On Saturday I went to the Elizabeth Peyton show at the New Museum, which recently reopened on the Bowery. My friend Jen (who some of you might remember from Jezebel.com) lives right across the street so we met there for the afternoon.

peyton2

Overall, I enjoyed the show. However, when a friend asked me later what I thought, my response was “It was so small.” I guess I meant that the paintings were small, about 12″ x 18″ (no surprise to those who know Peyton’s work) and the exhibition space consisted only two large rooms.

There’s a great article on Elizabeth Peyton in the October 6, 2008 issue of The New Yorker where I learned that she used to be married to Rirkrit Tiravanija, the installation/performance artist who does pieces that involve cooking and serving food to gallerygoers. Also, the New Museum has now hung a brand new painting by Peyton of Michelle Obama at the 2008 DNC that’s worth seeing.

Other highlights from the afternoon were the performance pieces happening throughout the museum. Through a window we saw a dance troupe running across the neighboring rooftops. Then, in the elevator, other performers were sorting through piles of colored clothing to loud music.

41

Finally, one of the best features of the New Museum is their panoramic skyline view from the 7th floor.

13

21

31

Leave a Reply

